Skip to Content

Suit of Swords

14 cards make up the Suit of Swords; Ace through 10, and the court cards: Page, Knight, Queen, and King. Swords make up 14 of the 56 Minor Arcana Tarot cards. Symbolically represented on the cards as a Sword, the Sword’s blades are either cutting, defending, hurting, guarding, or protecting a character, depending on the card. Card after card, the suit of Swords teaches us a lesson connected to the world of imagination, justice, intellect, reason, and intelligence. Each card has a meaning; a moral, or a spiritual lesson to teach. During a Tarot reading, each card provides a variable to consider within the bigger picture formed in a spread. Therefore, we must decipher the value and influence exerted by each sword tarot card within each reading.