Skip to Content

The Major Arcana Tarot Cards and Astrology

The Major Arcana Tarot Cards and Astrology

Our readers support us. This post may contain affiliate links. We earn from qualifying purchases. Learn More

By: Lisa Stardust.

Tarot and astrology work hand in hand. While both are different tools of divination, they both serve to help us understand the world and our place within the world.

The Major Arcana represent important themes such as karmic lessons and cause and effect of situations and people, while guiding us to understand and enlighten us on the details of the matter and truths in the world. Astrology helps us understand our role in the universe, much like tarot.

On most tarot decks, you will find astrological symbols on the Major Arcana cards. Astrology helps us understand the meaning of the Major Arcana, and vice versa.

By delving deeper into the meanings of the cards through the astrological symbolism and associations, one is able to have a deeper knowledge of the meanings of the cards and astrology.

From the Fool’s journey we can see a new beginning coming our way (like the planet Uranus) and learn from the Wheel of Fortune (like the planet Jupiter).

We can see the eagerness to rule of the Aries energy in The Emperor and the hopefulness of Aquarius in The Star.

Understanding the connection between the Major Arcana and astrology can help with Wheel of the Year spreads, as the reader can map out events which will occur during each season using the relationship and symbolism shared between the two, as well as themes for the coming year.

The Minor Arcana and Court Cards have astrological symbolism as well. Wands represent the Fire signs (Aries, Leo, Sagittarius), Pentacles represent Earth signs (Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn), Swords represent Air signs (Gemini, Libra, Aquarius), and Cups represent Water signs (Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces).

The correlation can help a tarot reader and astrologer dive deeper into their knowledge of both forms of divination, leaving the reader well versed in understanding their cards, self, and client better.

Please refer to the guide below for an understanding of how the cards and astrology work together.

Major Arcana and Zodiac Signs:

The Emperor – Aries (the leader).

The Hierophant – Taurus (order and rules).

The Lovers – Gemini (choice and duality in decision making).

The Chariot – Cancer (success, protection, and emotions).

Strength – Leo (resilience, control, and glory).

The Hermit – Virgo (analytical thought).

Justice – Libra (balance).

Death – Scorpio (transformation).

Temperance – Sagittarius (understanding through reason and moderation).

The Devil – Capricorn (letting go of fear and moving towards liberation).

The Star – Aquarius (inspiration and humanitarianism).

The Moon – Pisces (imagination and intuition).

The Major Arcana and Planets:

The Fool – The Fool represents the planet Uranus (change and new beginnings).

The Magician – The Magician represents the planet Mercury (communication and travel).

The High Priestess – The High Priestess represents the Moon (intuition and memory).

The Empress – The Empress represents the planet Venus (love, comfort, art, and security).

The Wheel of Fortune – The Wheel of Fortune represents the planet Jupiter (growth and wisdom).

The Hanged Man – The Hanged Man represents the planet Neptune (inability to move forward due to illusion, uncertainty, and delusion).

The Tower – The Tower represents the planet Mars (unexpected change and action, or, arguments).

The Sun – The Sun represents the Sun (ego and will).

Judgement – Judgement represents the planet Pluto (change, growth, and all efforts to rebuild, and release).

The World or The Universe – The World or The Universe represents the planet Saturn (rewards through completion).

Read more: Complete List of All Tarot Cards (Major Arcana and Minor Arcana)


Sunday 10th of January 2021

Thank you very much for this excellent explanation.


Saturday 26th of September 2020

Excellent information. Thank you.

Jimmy Wright

Saturday 8th of August 2020

I needed that

Gurinder kaur

Thursday 7th of May 2020

Beautifully defined